Tour

Every year, a different National Forest is selected to provide a tree to appear on the West Lawn of the U.S. Capitol for the Christmas season. The Kootenai National Forest in partnership with nonprofit Choose Outdoors will bring this special gift from Montana to Washington, D.C. for the 2017 season, involving more than 15 communities along the way.

The tree will be cut on Wednesday, November 8 and prepared for the more than 3,000-mile expedition, which includes a series of community celebrations and culminates with the official tree lighting in early December. The tree will make special appearances at whistle stops including:

  • Monday, Nov. 13: Eureka, MT; Whitefish, MT
  • Tuesday, Nov. 14: Libby, MT; Troy, MT; and Trout Creek, MT
  • Wednesday, Nov. 15: Thompson Falls, MT; Missoula, MT
  • Thursday, Nov. 16: Helena, MT; and Great Falls, MT
  • Friday, Nov. 17: Harlem (Fort Belknap), MT; and Glasgow, MT
  • Saturday, Nov. 18: Glendive, MT; and Dickinson, ND
  • Sunday, Nov 19: Grand Forks, ND; and Browns Valley, MN
  • Monday, Nov 20: Kansas City, MO
  • Tuesday, Nov. 21: Springfield, MO
  • Wednesday, Nov. 22: Poplar Bluff, MO; and Paducah, KY
  • Sunday, Nov. 26: Joint Base Andrews
  • Monday, Nov. 27: Deliver to U.S. Capitol

After arriving in Washington, D.C. the tree lighting will occur in early December as determined by the Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives.

This is the second U.S. Capitol Christmas tree to come from the Kootenai National Forest. With all of the wildfires burning on the Kootenai National Forest this summer, the 2017 Capitol Christmas Tree and back-up tree have not been affected. The initiative is made possible thanks to companies large and small as well as volunteers locally and across America, who provide vital support of time and resources, including Skybitz, Kenworth, Whitewood Transport, Rocky Mountain Ballet Theater, Hale Trailers, Alaska Airlines, Montana Crane Service, Meritor, Truckload Carriers Association, Sky Snap, ABC FOX Montana, National Forest Foundation, National Automobile Dealers Association, and Permit Wizard.

Check back for specific times and locations for each of the stops along the 2017 tour!